Love for Books as a Child

I have always had a love for books, even from a young age.

I always use to see my mum reading books and as a child we had to have home readers. I loved being able to go to the book corner with my mum in the classroom and choose what book to take home with me to read. Always love being able to borrow a book and be able to read it and then give it back and take out a new one.

At primary school I also had quiet reading after lunch time to be able to refocus on school work after running around during break times. This I got excited about because i got to go to a different realm and escape reality. It was always fantasy books or paranormal books.

My mum use to go to the local library to be able to look through family history records and there wasnt many children there when we was so it was like we had the whole library to ourselves. I use to go to the counter to take out my books and i had to work out which books i wanted to take and which i had to leave behind as i had too many.

I remember the time when we had recently brought home our new puppy at the time and we left a book in our tent that was set up in the backyard and the puppy tore up a book that we hired out. I was devastated and used my own pocket money to pay back the fine for the damaged book.

I got excited when I had my first job as I use to spend my money at the local book store picking up new books (i still have these books today!) , I moved out of home and realised i couldnt spend all my money on books as things like bills and rent needs to be paid. I have been using audiobooks and ebooks to help me read and have access to a cheaper option than a physical book. I will then choose if I want to have a physical book if I love the story enough.

When I have been having a bad day at work with drama happening I will read my book and escape to a different universe, whether it be fantasy, anime, or contemporary. If its contemporary it will show me that if a book she showing someone is having a rough day that its not just me.

I love being able to talk to different people about what I love to read and what i have read recently. Feel free to leave me a comment or message on any of my posts or on goodreads i would love to increase my book community.

Leave a comment